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	<title>Sussex New Media | </title>
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	<link>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca</link>
	<description>Digital Communications Agency</description>
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	<title>Sussex New Media | </title>
	<link>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca</link>
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	<item>
		<title>Get your web content published faster</title>
		<link>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/get-your-web-content-published-faster/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Fabiola Dieudonne]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 25 Jul 2019 21:53:09 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Web]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://sussexnewmedia.ca/?p=1081</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Easy steps to get your content online ]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="wpb-content-wrapper"><div      class="vc_row wpb_row section vc_row-fluid " style=' text-align:left;'><div class=" full_section_inner clearfix"><div class="wpb_column vc_column_container vc_col-sm-12"><div class="vc_column-inner"><div class="wpb_wrapper">
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			<p>Most organizations have a dedicated resource – usually a Web Content Coordinator &#8211; that oversees the website’s publishing pipeline.</p>
<p>To do this, a workflow process is in place for employees who want to publish content on the website.</p>
<h2 class="wp-block-heading">What is a content workflow?</h2>
<p>A content workflow defines specific tasks that the publishing team must complete to satisfy a request by a client, either internal or external.</p>
<p>This request can be for the creation of a webpage, newsletter, social media, video, blog, etc.</p>
<p>There are many variations of workflow, for the purpose of this blog post, we will focus on the web publishing process for internal clients.</p>
<p>A content publishing workflow determines:</p>
<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li>where/whom the request comes from;</li>
<li>how content is created; and</li>
<li>how content is reviewed and approve.</li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>A typical content workflow includes:</p>
<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li>content outline and first draft;</li>
<li>content review by the editor;</li>
<li>content approval by the editor and content creator; and</li>
<li>publishing by the web coordinator
</li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>Knowing very well the role of web content coordinator, there are tips I would like to share to clients who wish to get their content published faster on the web.</p>
<h2 class="wp-block-heading">5 practices employees can exercise to get content published faster on the web</h2>
<h3 class="wp-block-heading"> </h3>
<h3>1. Provide the web coordinator complete content</h3>
<p>When you provide content that is complete:</p>
<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li>The web coordinator and editor will take less time to review and apply best writing and web practices to your piece.</li>
<li>It removes any guessing when identifying the main message and key points in your article .</li>
<li>It eliminates the back and forth to clarify the information and fact checking.</li>
</ul>
<h3 class="wp-block-heading">2. Have your content approved by management</h3>
<p>Some organizations require that your direct supervision reviews and approved the content before it gets to the publishing team.</p>
<p>The content doesn’t need to be complete to have your manager’s approval. To get approval, simply email the outline of your article to your manager  to help them make a decision.   </p>
<p>Getting initial approval is one less step the web coordinator has to do, speeding up the process to have your content live.</p>
<h3 class="wp-block-heading">3. Do not translate your content</h3>
<p>If your organization has a multi-language website, do not translate the content before it gets to the editor.</p>
<p>The editor can make substantial changes to the original content. If the content is already translated:</p>
<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li>it will need to be sent back to your translator;</li>
<li> it will incur additional translation fees; and</li>
<li>consume more time for the web coordinator to get the final content.</li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>To avoid delays, wait until you receive the final content from the editor before it goes to translation.</p>
<h3 class="wp-block-heading">4. Provide high quality images</h3>
<p>We all know how crucial it is to have quality images on the website. You can read our previous blog post on <a href="https://sussexnewmedia.ca/5-tips-for-choosing-images-for-social-media/">selecting images</a>.</p>
<p>When the web coordinator receives images that do not meet your organization’s web standards, they have to conduct an image search to find images to fit the content.</p>
<p>Searching for images is time consuming. Before sending your content, provide professionally taken images with proper photo credit.</p>
<h3 class="wp-block-heading">5. Give proper heads-up</h3>
<p>Content workflows have terms that requires clients to give the publishing team a certain amount of time to process and complete each request.</p>
<p>As the editor and web coordinator receive multiple request, they need to prioritize their work. By submitting your content within the appropriate deadlines will ensure that your content gets the thorough revisions it needs to be published. And it will also alleviate some of the stress off you colleagues.</p>
<p>If you need help with developing content for your digital channel, <a href="https://sussexnewmedia.ca/contact/">drop us a line</a>.</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>

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	</div> </div></div></div></div></div></div>]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
			</item>
		<item>
		<title>Live tweeting tips</title>
		<link>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/live-tweeting-tips/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Fabiola Dieudonne]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 19 Jun 2019 19:27:53 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://sussexnewmedia.ca/?p=1052</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Tips to live tweet like a pro at your next event]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[
<p>As an avid event goer, I like to let my followers
know about the sessions I attend through live tweeting. </p>



<p>Whether I&#8217;m attending a conference on behalf of Sussex
or for leisure, live-tweeting is a great way to help raise awareness and to improve
engagement. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">What
is live tweeting? </h2>



<p>Live tweeting is when a Twitter user post
comments about an event while it is taking place.</p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">9 best practices for live tweeting</h2>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">Before
the event</h3>



<p>When the plan is to live tweet during an event, it’s
important to prepare your strategy beforehand so you can stay current and post
relevant content. </p>



<h4 class="wp-block-heading">1. Before the event you do your
research</h4>



<ul class="wp-block-list"><li>Know the names and
proper spelling of the speakers</li><li>Research speaker
and attendee Twitter handles</li><li>Research the event hashtag
or create your own</li><li>Think about any
questions your followers may have and prepare some answers</li><li>Prepare a few
tweets in advance for sessions you are hosting or attending</li></ul>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">At
the event</h3>



<h4 class="wp-block-heading">2. Let your followers know that
you will attend the event </h4>



<p>Post a tweet to give your followers a heads up
that you will be a certain event. This provides them with an opportunity to visit
your account for the latest updates. </p>



<h4 class="wp-block-heading">3. Use the official event
hashtag(s) in your posts</h4>



<p>You can find the official hashtag(s) on the event
website or social media profiles. Don’t use too many hashtags in your posts and
use the main one instead. </p>



<p>If you decide to create a hashtag for an event
you’re hosting, remember to keep it short, easy to remember, and be sure it’s
not already in use.</p>



<h4 class="wp-block-heading">4. Tag speakers in posts</h4>



<p>It’s important to tag the right handle in a post.
Use Twitter’s search engine or the event website to find the proper user names.
&nbsp;</p>



<h4 class="wp-block-heading">5. Capture key messages </h4>



<p>You don’t have to post word for word what was
said during a session. Only post key points that are valuable to onsite participants
as well as your wider following.</p>



<h4 class="wp-block-heading">6. Tweet quotes from presenters</h4>



<p>When you are quoting someone in your tweet, always
attribute the quote and make sure you quote the speaker accurately. Try to find
and include their Twitter handle, this will give them proper credit, as well as
help you start a conversation. </p>



<h4 class="wp-block-heading">7. Share backstage photos and videos</h4>



<p>Content that contains images and video performs
better than the ones without. Share high quality images and videos to increase
engagement. </p>



<h4 class="wp-block-heading">8. Engage with others</h4>



<p>Engagement is a two-way street. Instead of
pushing content:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list"><li>Try to respond to tweets
from other participants</li><li>Engage in
conversation by agreeing or providing your own perspective </li><li>Answer polls</li><li>Retweet/like
insightful comments from participants </li></ul>



<h4 class="wp-block-heading">9. Follow back</h4>



<p>By using the event hashtag, your tweets will
appear in the live stream and people will start following you. Follow them back
so the newly created connections can extend to offline opportunities as well.</p>



<p>Live tweeting might be a short-term goal, but just like any just like your long-term communication objectives, you should have a plan in place. </p>



<p>Sussex can help you identify the right tools to help you plan and stay organize. <a href="https://sussexnewmedia.ca/contact/">Contact us</a> to learn how we can help. &nbsp;</p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
			</item>
		<item>
		<title>Email personalization techniques</title>
		<link>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/email-personalization-techniques/</link>
					<comments>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/email-personalization-techniques/#respond</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Fabiola Dieudonne]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 14 May 2019 15:47:19 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://sussexnewmedia.ca/?p=1046</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Time to get personal]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[
<p>We are big
email marketing advocates here at Sussex. While digital marketing is expanding,
and social media is making it easier to advertise, we recommend including email
in your digital communications strategy. After all, it has the best return on
investments than any other methods of digital marketing. </p>



<p>In a
previous post we questioned if <a href="https://sussexnewmedia.ca/email-marketing-is-it-worth-it/">email is
dead</a>. Since it’s not, we want to share a few tips to increase open and
click-through rates through personalization. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">What is email personalization?</h2>



<p>Personalization
in email marketing is creating an email campaign that is designed and tailored for
a specific subscriber or a group in your distribution list. To personalize
these emails, different segments of your audience needs to be created in order
to provide them with timely and relevant content. </p>



<p>Segmentation
can be by age, gender, location, and interest. But to create these segments you
need data. You can collect this data by different means including newsletter
subscription, product purchased, log in to a platform, app download, eBook
download, etc. </p>



<p>Email
personalization can be very basic, using the subscriber’s name, to very
complex, changing the content in the body of the email to meet the need of that
one reader. </p>



<p>Personalizing
email campaigns has been proven to increase engagement rates and return on
investment. The one reason we advocate email marketing is because of the possibilities
to optimize the content to the need of the reader, which is rather difficult to
do with social media, where everyone gets the same message. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">Tips to personalized marketing email</h2>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">1. Subject lines</h3>



<p>A personalized subject line will entice subscribers to open
the email. Use their name and avoid reusing generic headlines. This way your
email stands out from the rest. </p>



<p>Some
companies will use emojis to grab attention, but the best way to stand out is
by using their name with a unique subject. </p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">2. From field</h3>



<p>The name
in the from field in an email is the most dominant element that is displayed in
your readers’ inbox. They will decide whether to open an email or not depending
on the sender. &nbsp;</p>



<p>In this
case, do not use a “do not reply” or “no-reply” in the from field. Instead, it should
be your company’s name or the name of an employee who sends the email (i.e.,
Jane from X Company). </p>



<p>Using the
company name creates a sense of trust and your email doesn’t come across as
spam. &nbsp;</p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">3. Email copy </h3>



<p>Once the
subscriber has opened the email, ensure that the content is relevant to them. </p>



<p>The email
can be personalized by gender, location, services, or interest, and you can
choose parts of the email to be personalized, including: </p>



<ul class="wp-block-list"><li>salutation <ul><li>ex. Hello Jane</li></ul></li><li>types of products <ul><li>ex. books, clothing, service, etc.</li></ul></li><li>imagery <ul><li>ex. dynamic images, gif, static images, or
video</li></ul></li><li>call to action <ul><li>ex. See my offers</li></ul></li><li>birthdate <ul><li>ex. Happy birthday, Jane </li></ul></li></ul>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">4. Re-engagement emails </h3>



<p>When a
customer has engaged with you, but didn’t complete the user journey, use email
personalization and automation for re-engagement. </p>



<p>You can
use this tactic for when a costumer browed your website and didn’t complete a
purchase or to inactive users by soliciting their feedback. </p>



<p>With personalization
and automation, you can send your customer product recommendation based on a complete
or abandoned purchase or browsing history. This technique is great for retailer
and e-commerce sites as these emails can be created in real time. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">Summary</h2>



<p>Email
personalization is great method to deliver audience-specific content. It
improves user experience and journeys. The costumer feels valued as you take
the time to tailor content that is timely and relevant to their interest. </p>



<p><a href="https://sussexnewmedia.ca/contact/">Contact us</a> for a
consultation on how to optimize your communications strategy with email
marketing. </p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
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		<item>
		<title>How to create a brand hashtag</title>
		<link>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/how-to-create-a-brand-hashtag/</link>
					<comments>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/how-to-create-a-brand-hashtag/#respond</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Fabiola Dieudonne]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 23 Apr 2019 13:31:17 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://sussexnewmedia.ca/?p=1022</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Why create a brand hashtag]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[
<p>By now most people knows that a hashtag is a clickable term made up by
a single or a group of words that starts with the # sign. They are used on social
media platforms to group discussions on a topic. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">What
is a brand hashtag?</h2>



<p>A brand hashtag works the same as a regular hashtag. The difference is
that they are used on social media to signify that a post is associated with a brand,
product or company. </p>



<p>They are unique to a business and they are found in the bio section on the user profile of the company social media account. Followers are invited to engage with the company by using the brand hashtag. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">Why
is a brand hashtag important?</h2>



<p>There are many benefits of using a branding hashtag. </p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">1. Brand hashtags make your brand more searchable on social media platforms </h3>



<p>The primary function of a hashtag is to have your content appear in
the search results of that hashtag. People will use various hashtags on their
posts to reach a broader audience. Other times, hashtags will be created for a specific
campaign so that <em>all</em> the posts
associated with a topic can appear in the hashtag search. </p>



<p>In the case of branding hashtags, they are used in conjunction with
thematic hashtags to not only have your posts appear in multiple searches, but
also so that all the posts associated with your brand will appear under the
search for that hashtag. </p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">2. Brand hashtags are great for analytics</h3>



<p>With a branding hashtag, you can track who is engaging with your brand
and track its performance. Therefore, it is important to have a unique hashtag,
so that the analytics only reflect content related to your brand and not other
topics. It is very important that your audience knows the exact spelling of the
hashtag so that it can be accurately tracked. </p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">3. Brand hashtags can also be used across platforms </h3>



<p>Many organizations are active on several platforms. When your brand
hashtag is used across different channels, it becomes more recognizable to your
audience because it’s being seen and marketed everywhere. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">Tips to create your own brand hashtag</h2>



<p>Your brand hashtag can be your company name, slogan, or tag line. That
way you can ensure its uniqueness. </p>



<p>If your business name or the hashtag you want to use is common: </p>



<ol class="wp-block-list"><li>Conduct a search on
all social media platforms to make that it’s not being used. </li><li>Keep it short to a
maximum of three words, that way it’s easy to remember. </li><li>Avoid complex and
long words to ensure correct spelling. &nbsp;</li><li>Test it to eliminate
any risks or problems. Write it out, say it out loud, ask your team members and
a small group of your followers to review it before implementation.</li><li>When you are satisfied,
promote the hashtag on all your social media accounts. &nbsp;&nbsp;</li></ol>
]]></content:encoded>
					
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		<item>
		<title>How do you structure a webpage?</title>
		<link>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/how-do-you-structure-a-webpage/</link>
					<comments>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/how-do-you-structure-a-webpage/#comments</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Fabiola Dieudonne]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 17 Apr 2019 15:12:55 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Web]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://sussexnewmedia.ca/?p=1012</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Structural elements websites should have]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[
<p>Each
website is unique, and they are created to meet a need or to solve a problem
for a given audience. </p>



<p>While
having good content, graphics, and appealing design are importing to have,
there are structural elements they must have. </p>



<p>There are
standard structural elements that visitors look for to be able to navigate the
site and complete tasks intuitively. </p>



<p>When
building a website, ask yourself: </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading"><strong>What are the structural elements my webpages must
have? </strong></h2>



<div style="height:20px" aria-hidden="true" class="wp-block-spacer"></div>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading"><strong>1. Header</strong></h3>



<p>The
header is the first element a visitor will see when they come to your site.
It’s usually a bar that takes up the width of the site and it contains the
site’s identity. That bar never changes and stays in the same place throughout
the site.</p>



<p>The
header must have: </p>



<ul class="wp-block-list"><li>a logo that link to the homepage; </li><li>site name and tag line or  slogan;</li><li>main navigation menu; and</li><li>a search box that is always visible and in the same place.</li></ul>



<p></p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading"><strong>2. Navigation bar</strong></h3>



<p>This
section is found in the website’s header, but it needs to be treated as an
element of its own because this is how visitors will be able to navigate your
site. </p>



<p>When
creating the menu:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list"><li>use labels (e.g., Our Service) that convey the information that the user will find when they navigate to that section of the site; and</li><li>test the links to ensure that they are functional and that they send the visitor to the right location.  </li></ul>



<p>The
navigation menu must also:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list"><li>be easy to locate;</li><li>be consistent (placement and functions are the same across the website); and</li><li>the site map and navigation are intuitive.</li></ul>



<div style="height:20px" aria-hidden="true" class="wp-block-spacer"></div>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading"><strong>3. Main content</strong></h3>



<p>This
section contains the more robust and unique content that is found on the
website. </p>



<p>This is
where you add text, images and graphics, and videos.</p>



<p>When
creating regular webpages or landing pages ensure that:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list"><li>the page title is readable and is in an &lt;h1> tag for accessibility;</li><li>the breadcrumb navigation is visible above or below the page title; </li><li>the navigation to related content is placed at the bottom of the page where the reader can navigate to other pages; </li><li>the publication date is placed at the top of the page; and</li><li>the last updated date is displayed at the bottom of the content area. </li></ul>



<p></p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading"><strong>4. Footer</strong></h3>



<p>The
footer is the last section of the site. Like the header, the information it
contains never changes and is always in the same place on the website. </p>



<p>The
footer is used to provide easy and quick access to popular content. </p>



<p>The
information that is found in the footer varies from websites, but they are
commonly used for:</p>



<ol class="wp-block-list"><li>legal information <ul><li>copyright</li><li>privacy policylegal information </li></ul></li><li>popular information<ul><li>contact us link or form</li><li>newsletter subscriptionpopular information</li><li>social media buttons</li><li>careers </li></ul></li><li>repeated navigation menu and search box</li></ol>
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			</item>
		<item>
		<title>The ultimate free digital marketing tools  guide</title>
		<link>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/the-ultimate-free-digital-marketing-tools-guide/</link>
					<comments>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/the-ultimate-free-digital-marketing-tools-guide/#comments</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Fabiola Dieudonne]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 01 Apr 2019 15:00:40 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://sussexnewmedia.ca/?p=1001</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Sussex New Media Blog. We’ve compiled the ultimate list of free digital marketing tools to help you create amazing digital content.]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[
<p>Starting a business can be expensive and purchasing licences for software is probably one of the major expenses.</p>



<p>Whether you&#8217;re new, or an expert in digital marketing and want to create quality content without breaking your bank account, we’ve compiled the ultimate list of free software that you can use to start producing the best graphics, right away.</p>
<h2>Free digital marketing tools</h2>



<p><strong>If you shoot and edit videos, and animation</strong>:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li><a href="https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/ca/products/davinciresolve/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Davinci Resolve</a></li>
<li><a href="https://opentoonz.github.io/e/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">OpenToonz</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.blender.org/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Blender</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.animaker.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Animaker</a></li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>



<p><strong>If you draw or design</strong>:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li><a href="https://www.gimp.org/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">GIMP</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.getpaint.net/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">PAINT.NET</a></li>
<li><a href="https://inkscape.org/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Inkscape</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.canva.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Canva</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.scribus.net/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Scribus</a></li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>



<p><strong>If you create infographics</strong>:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li><a href="https://venngage.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Venngage</a></li>
<li><a href="https://piktochart.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Pictochart</a></li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>



<p><strong>If you build websites: </strong></p>



<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li><a href="https://www.wix.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Wix</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.blogger.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Blogger</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.weebly.com/ca/websites" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Weebly</a></li>
<li><a href="https://wordpress.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">WordPress</a></li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>



<p><strong>If you need fonts</strong>:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li><a href="https://fonts.google.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Goole Fonts</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.dafont.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">DaFont</a></li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>



<p><strong>If you need stock photos</strong>:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li><a href="https://www.pexels.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Pexels</a></li>
<li><a href="https://unsplash.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Unspalsh</a></li>
<li><a href="https://pixabay.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Pixabay</a></li>
<li><a href="https://burst.shopify.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Burst</a></li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>



<p><strong>If you need logos</strong>:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li><a href="https://logomakr.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">LogoMakr</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.designevo.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">DesignEvo</a></li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>



<p><strong>If you need music</strong>:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li><a href="https://www.hooksounds.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">HookSounds</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.bensound.com/royalty-free-music/2" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Bensound</a></li>
<li><a href="https://audiojungle.net/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">AudioJungle</a> </li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><a href="https://sussexnewmedia.ca/contact-us/">Contact us</a> to explore the solutions we have for you!  </p>
<p>Don’t forget to follow us on <a href="https://twitter.com/SussexNewMedia" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Twitter</a>, <a href="https://www.facebook.com/SussexNewMedia" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Facebook</a>, and <a href="https://www.instagram.com/sussexnewmedia/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Instagram</a>! </p>
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		<title>Important digital advertising formulas</title>
		<link>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/important-digital-advertising-formulas/</link>
					<comments>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/important-digital-advertising-formulas/#respond</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Fabiola Dieudonne]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 25 Mar 2019 19:23:49 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://sussexnewmedia.ca/?p=989</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[A cheat sheet for digital marketers]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[
<p>We always talk about measuring our digital marketing efforts.
But what does it mean? How do you measure success? </p>



<p>Well, there are many formulas in online advertising that marketers should know. </p>



<p>We have compiled the 5 basic formulas with examples that will help you determine how well your campaigns are performing.</p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">1. Click through Rate (CTR)&nbsp; </h2>



<p>CTR is used to calculate the overall performance of a
campaign.</p>



<p>The higher the rate is the more successful the campaign is. &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </p>



<p><strong>Formula</strong></p>



<p>CTR = (number of clicks / number of views) x 100&nbsp; </p>



<p><strong>Example</strong></p>



<p>In a campaign, if your ad was seen 4,000 times and received 100 clicks, the CRT would be 2.5%, since (100/4,000) x 100 = 2.5%.</p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">2. Cost per Click (CPC)&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </h2>



<p>CPC model is used when an advertiser pays for each click
instead of impressions.</p>



<p>If you chose the CPC model for a campaign, to know how much
it will cost, you have to think about the amount you would like to pay for each
click. </p>



<p><strong>Formula</strong></p>



<p>CPC = cost to an advertiser * number of clicks</p>



<p>CPC = cost to an advertiser / number of clicks&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </p>



<p><strong>Example</strong></p>



<p>In a campaign, if you receive 60 clicks and the CPC is $3,
the total cost is $180.</p>



<p>If you don’t know how much the CPC is, take the total cost
divided by the number of clicks. Let’s say the total cost was $180 and the
total click was 60, the CPC will be $3. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">3. Return on Investment (ROI)&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </h2>



<p>The ROI is to understand the success of a campaign. You have
to know the monetary benefit against the money invested.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </p>



<p><strong>Formula</strong></p>



<p>ROI = (total revenue – total cost) / total cost&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </p>



<p><strong>Example</strong></p>



<p>If you spent $1,000 on an ad and it generated $5,000 in
sales, the ROI would be $4, since (5,000-1,000)/1,000 = $4. This means for
every dollar spent, the campaign generated $4. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">4. Conversion Rate (CR)&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </h2>



<p>This model is used if the goal of a campaign is to only
generate revenue. &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </p>



<p><strong>Formula</strong></p>



<p>CR = (number of conversion / number of clicks) x 100&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </p>



<p><strong>Example</strong></p>



<p>In a campaign you had 60 conversions from 1,000 clicks, your
conversions rate would be 6%, since 60 / 1,000 x 100 = 6.</p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">5. Cost per Mille (CPM) &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </h2>



<p>The cost per thousand impressions is used by companies who
want to create brand awareness.&nbsp;  </p>



<p><strong>Formula</strong></p>



<p>CPM = (cost to an advertiser / impression) x 1000&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </p>



<p><strong>Example</strong></p>



<p>If an ad received 5,000 impressions and the advertiser decided to pay $30 for the campaign, the CPM would be $6 since (30/5,000) x 1,000 = 6.</p>



<p>If you found this cheat sheet useful, leave a comment below, save and share.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
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		<title>5 Tips for choosing images for social media</title>
		<link>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/5-tips-for-choosing-images-for-social-media/</link>
					<comments>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/5-tips-for-choosing-images-for-social-media/#respond</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Fabiola Dieudonne]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 15 Mar 2019 19:08:56 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://sussexnewmedia.ca/?p=975</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[A picture is worth a 1,000 words]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[
<p>Why is choosing images for social media so important?</p>



<p>Simple. An image conveys a thousand words and emotions, and people have an attention span of less than nine seconds. </p>



<p>When it comes to choosing images for your social media platform, you must understand the platform itself, and who your audience is.</p>



<p>Consumers will make a decision based on the aesthetics of a product. Therefore, you must be able to appeal to their interests and needs. You can achieve this with the images you select for your campaigns. </p>



<p>In this post, we&#8217;ve got five tips to help you choose the best images for your social media platforms. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">1. Different platforms, different image sizes</h2>



<p>As mentioned above, you must understand the platform you
want to use. This means knowing where images will display and know the
different image sizes that will fit these different real estates on the
platform. </p>



<p>Cropping or resizing your images to fit the different placements
on various platforms, will inform you on the image to use. When you crop an image,
some elements can be lost, and you don’t want to use an image that will distort
the “story” the image conveys. When images don’t render properly, the emotion evoked
by your followers might be that you don’t care about the presentation of your brand.
</p>



<p>What are the different image sizes for social media
platforms? <a href="https://sussexnewmedia.ca/your-social-media-image-size-guide/">Read this guide</a>
for the different sizes. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">2. Use high-quality images</h2>



<p>Quality image means selecting high resolution photos. The
more pixels an image contains, the more vivid, clear, and detailed the image is.
The fewer pixels an image has, the more it looks pixelated, making the image
blurry. </p>



<p>When cropping or resizing images, always choose the largest
file size possible so you don’t lose resolution and details in the image, and
risk having a blurry picture on your social media feed. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">3. Select attention grabbing photos</h2>



<p>We’re all fighting for attention on social media. That’s why
it’s essential to understand the platforms and know your audience. When these
two practices are understood, you can now differentiate your brand from the rest,
and create content your followers can’t ignore.</p>



<p>Share photos that are of interest of your following and social media posts that contain images perform better and receives more engagements than posts without. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">4. Diversify your images</h2>



<p>Now that you have attention-grabbing photos, you will need to diversify your images to keep interest and to keep your audience wanting more. </p>



<p>Mix your feed with a variety of stock photos, infographics,
memes, and videos/gifs. </p>



<p>When you change the visual information on your feed, you avoid user fatigue, keep your followers engaged, and interest in your content. </p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">5. Have a consistent visual identity </h2>



<p>Brands now have multiple social media accounts, it’s crucial
to keep your visual identity consistent so your followers recognize your brand.
</p>



<p>Your visual identity is as vital as your written message. It’s important to connect your images to your message every chance you get. Using a consistent visual identity tied with your message, will create a stronger brand recognition, whether your followers are on Instagram or on Twitter.</p>
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		<title>Important SEO trends in 2019</title>
		<link>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/important-seo-trends-in-2019/</link>
					<comments>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/important-seo-trends-in-2019/#respond</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Fabiola Dieudonne]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 12 Feb 2019 17:37:30 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Web]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://sussexnewmedia.ca/?p=970</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Sussex New Media Blog. To stay a head of SEO trends, we have listed five trends you will need to optimize for in 2019.]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[
<p>As a digital communicator, you already know the best practices to improve traffic to your website.</p>



<p>There are some elements that are our digital commandments and know that we can’t create content without them:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li>Design for mobile</li>
<li>Improve user experience (UX) / design with user intent</li>
<li>Create quality content</li>
<li>Increase webpage speed</li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>



<p>You can <a href="https://sussexnewmedia.ca/8-best-practices-for-writing-for-the-web/">read our blog posts</a> for a quick refresher.</p>



<p>Search Engine Optimization (SEO) is always changing and new trends are popping up. To stay a head of SEO trends, we have listed five trends you will need to optimize for in 2019.</p>
<h2>Important SEO trends in 2019</h2>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">1. Mobile-first indexing</h3>



<p>Google launched the mobile-first index in 2018.</p>



<h4 class="wp-block-heading">What is the mobile-first index?</h4>



<p>Websites are now ranked based on the quality of UX on mobile devices. If your website has a mobile version, this version will be indexed, and the desktop version is indexed as per usual.</p>



<p>If ranking is now based on mobile UX, you now must master SEO by having a mobile friendly website to increase traffic to your pages, otherwise you will miss out.</p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">2. Optimize for voice search</h3>



<p>Every second, there are about 65,000 search queries entered in Google. Now that more people are using speech to look up information on their smart home and assistant devices like Siri, Google Home, and Alexa, the number of voice search has increased.</p>



<p>As these technologies continue to become more sophisticated, business will have to start thinking about voice search SEO.</p>



<h4 class="wp-block-heading">How to optimize your website for voice search?  </h4>



<p>If you are already implementing SEO best practices, your website is already optimized for voice search.</p>



<p>But there are a few key elements to keep in mind:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li>Write your content the way a person would ask a question. You can use <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><a href="https://answerthepublic.com/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Answer the Public</a></span> to look up how people are asking questions.</li>
<li>Use longer-tail keywords and conversation words together. For example, write “what are the best restaurants in Canada” instead of “best restaurants in Canada.”</li>
<li>Write blog post dedicated to answering questions or update your FAQ page.</li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">3. Take advantage of Rich Snippets</h3>



<p>Rich Snippets are the information box that display on the top of search results list when you search for information. A summary of the answer to the question asked will appear and will have a link to the webpage where the answer was found.</p>



<h4 class="wp-block-heading">How do I get content featured in snippets?</h4>



<p>Unfortunately, the rich snippet comes from Google. For your information to display in that prime real estate, your page must have good organic ranking. Content that are on the first page of a search results lists have more changes of being featured in the snippets box.</p>



<p>If you want to increase your changes of being features, you must choose the right keywords and create quality content that visitors can use.</p>



<p>Your ranking will also improve if you have structured data. This means fixed fields (e.g., author, date, etc.) from your website have been organized in a database and has a clear definition on how the data stored, retrieved, processed and acceded.</p>



<p>The good news is that you don’t have to be a web developer to add structured data to your site. With <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><a href="https://www.google.com/webmasters/markup-helper/?hl=en" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Google’s Structured Data Markup Helper</a></span> you can now add this data yourself. This tool will provide you with the missing fields your page needs to increase your ranking in search engines and subsequently increase the probability of being featured in snippets.</p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">4. Use of SSL Certificate</h3>



<p>Since 2014, Google included HTTPS in their ranking algorithm and introduced it as a ranking signal.</p>



<h4 class="wp-block-heading">What is HTPPS?</h4>



<p>The Secure Socket Layer (SSL) certificate makes sure that the data is safe and secure between the browser and the web server. It protects users’ connections and secures their sensitive information, like banking information.</p>



<p>If you don’t have SSL on your website, it’s recommended that you do. Not only can it can boost your ranking in search engines and it also reassures users trust when they visit your site.  </p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">5. Blockchain and Artificial Intelligence</h3>



<p>Blockchain was a hot topic in 2018. This technology has drastically changed how data is tracked online.  This is good for consumers as it provides them more control over their data and challenges companies to think of innovative ways on how to use this data. </p>



<p>Experiments are presently taking place to learn how blockchain can be used on SEO.  We don’t know how this will present itself, we’ll have to stay tune for the results this year. </p>
<p>SEO trends are always evolving, make sure to subscribe to our newsletter below for the latest SEO trends news. </p>
<p><a href="https://sussexnewmedia.ca/contact-us/">Contact us</a> to explore the solutions we have for you!  </p>
<p>Don’t forget to follow us on <a href="https://twitter.com/SussexNewMedia" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Twitter</a>, <a href="https://www.facebook.com/SussexNewMedia" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Facebook</a>, and <a href="https://www.instagram.com/sussexnewmedia/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Instagram</a>! </p>
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		<item>
		<title>What is digital marketing?</title>
		<link>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/what-is-digital-marketing/</link>
					<comments>https://www.sussexnewmedia.ca/what-is-digital-marketing/#respond</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Fabiola Dieudonne]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 30 Jan 2019 21:46:32 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://sussexnewmedia.ca/?p=956</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Unpacking digital marketing and five best strategies to get you started]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[
<p>Digital marketing is the use of digital media and internet to market products, brands or services using various digital channels. Email, social media, and affiliate marketing are a few examples of digital channels used.</p>



<p>The cost effectiveness, the ability to simply track marketing campaign measurements, and the ability to target ideal consumers are just a few reasons as to why digital marketing has been beneficial for many businesses.</p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">Who is responsible for digital marketing?</h2>



<p>Everyone in the organization has a role to play in providing input on digital marketing efforts. It comes from the product owners who want to market a service, to having an intern fact check the information, to having the content edited and approved. It’s important to get feedback from those who are not part of your communications team as they can provide insight and new perspectives.</p>



<p>The main responsibilities come down to these three roles</p>



<p><strong>Digital Marketing Manager</strong>: is responsible for all marketing and brand awareness. They provide oversight to ensure consistency and that campaign goals are aligned with the organization&#8217;s strategic plan and objectives.</p>



<p><strong>Digital Content Marketer</strong>: is responsible for creating content for all digital platforms including blog entries, webpages, landing pages, video, and social media. They also manage the editorial calendar to ensure that content is published on a regular basis.</p>



<p><strong>Social Media Manager</strong>: is responsible for the online presence of the organization. They are the online &#8220;<em>voice&#8221;</em> of the organization and they have a thorough understanding of the company. It’s their role to continuously research best practices, create, and adapt social media strategies to ensure better online engagement. They are also responsible for keeping the social media publication schedule for all platforms and ensures the visual identity of the company is consistent across these channels.</p>



<h2 class="wp-block-heading">5 best strategies for digital marketing</h2>



<p>We have listed five digital marketing best practices that will help you improve your efforts.</p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">1. Search Engine Optimization (SEO)</h3>



<p>Websites and blogs must continuously optimize to have been raking in search engines. Understanding the search habits and the type of traffic that brings visitors to your website is key. This analysis will help optimize your website, social media campaigns, blogs, and ads.</p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">2. Get personal with customers</h3>



<p>Advertise products that will allow your consumers to make quick decisions by leveraging marketing analytics to understand their preference. Running campaigns with the right personalized information will allow clients to connect more easily with your product or service and eliminate the competition.</p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">3. Host webinars</h3>



<p>One of the best methods to engage with potential consumers is to host free webinars. Potential clients can preview the services offered in a no-commitment environment. When hosting a webinar treat it like you would a formal event by:</p>



<ul class="wp-block-list">
<li>creating a webpage,</li>
<li>including an invitation in your newsletter,</li>
<li>creating an event hashtag so participants can engage during the live session, and</li>
<li>recording the session, it can later be used as promotional material or as a resource. </li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">4. Social media</h3>



<p>This is one of the best platforms to reach consumers, close to half of the world’s populations have a social media account of some sort. These platforms help businesses build their brand and provide clients the opportunity to engage directly with the companies.</p>



<h3 class="wp-block-heading">5. Mobile marketing</h3>



<p>Marketing content should translate and render well across all devices. When creating and designing your campaigns it’s important to keep mobile in mind, as 50% of all searches begin on a mobile device.</p>
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